Reply
First Son
Registered: 02/25/2013
Offline
5 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Nov 19, 2013

The HDD in PS4 was pretty much DOA for me. It had a clicking sound like a dead laptop's hdd.

 

Luckily, I had an extra hdd laying around so i replaced it.. and now it's working without any problem.

 

I also wanted to test the hdd from PS4, so i used my external enclosure to connect it to my pc.. and this happens:

 

http://youtu.be/aiFlhdcMdjc

 

I haven't contacted Sony yet because everyone seems to be trying to get a hold of them to get their ps4 replaced.

do you think they will replace just the hdd for me? it shoudl be covered under warranty, right?

Message 21 of 44 (2,953 Views)
First Son
Registered: 02/25/2013
Offline
5 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

[ Edited ]
Nov 19, 2013

idk if anyone cares, but FYI, they are unable to give me a replacment hdd for the failed drive. just contacted sony

 

they say if it's not working correctly, i gotta send the whole thing in.

 

sigh.. we'll see.

Message 22 of 44 (2,917 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/19/2013
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Nov 19, 2013

how do u put ur ps4 in safe mode/?

Message 23 of 44 (2,888 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation Support
Registered: 01/30/2013
Offline
5901 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Nov 19, 2013

Biggs2411 wrote:

how do u put ur ps4 in safe mode/?


Hi Biggs2411, 

 

This article should help:

https://support.us.playstation.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5044/

 

Thanks,

U--J

PlayStation Moderation and Support Guy @ www.playstationsupportforum.com
Message 24 of 44 (2,876 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/29/2013
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Nov 29, 2013

I have done exactly this, made sure the HDD was in properly and securely. I have the screw, it is not missing, and tightened and it still says cannart start as it cannot access system storage. Its really annoying me! 

 

Please help! what do i do!

Message 25 of 44 (2,663 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 01/22/2005
Offline
344 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Nov 29, 2013

Funny how I can't find the 900 firmware download  anywhere but your link !?!

Message 26 of 44 (2,654 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 11/08/2010
Offline
1080 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Dec 4, 2013

I hope you figured out everything you needed.  On day 1 I also had a few small issues upgrading my Hard Drive but was able to figure it out easily and taking out the new HD then putting it back in gently and making sure it was sitting in the cradle properly and firmly connected made the difference so just be very careful, make sure you have a thin USB thumbstick and the correct 900 size file from the site to add to your brand new Hard Drive. I upgraded to a Seagate 1TB which was only 70.00 from Bestbuy and I am so happy i did so. Feel free to send me any quetions about upgrading your hard drives.

RISE_UP44
“Don't spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door. ”
― Coco Chanel
Message 27 of 44 (2,580 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Hekseville Citizen
Registered: 01/22/2005
Offline
344 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Dec 11, 2013

GOOD news yes it dose work now but only the 900 and from your link .

Bad news I got a 1tb but after install it's at 861 gb dang !

Message 28 of 44 (2,494 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 11/25/2013
Offline
10 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Dec 19, 2013

I know people probably asked this question so many times but will it beneficial if I buy a HDD with a higher RPM?  Please reply and thank you.

Message 29 of 44 (2,406 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 12/19/2013
Offline
7 posts
 

Re: [INFO] Proper Seating of PS4 Hard Drive

Dec 19, 2013

Will a SSD hard drive work? If so do I need to download any drivers. With that note Is it possible for me to upgrade the ram, graphics card, and cpu? Of course I might have to replace the mobo just incase the current mobo can't be upgraded to 16 GB of RAM and possibly upgrade the power supply  to support the new graphics card (wanting to put in a 4-6 gb graphics card). 

Message 30 of 44 (2,405 Views)
Reply
0 Likes