Dec 19 2009
By: Jag_Stilvecchio PlayStation MVP 8173 posts

Fallout 3 GOTY Freezing? Try This!

22 replies 17689 views Edited Dec 19, 2009

Well after beating the original Fallout 3, getting platinum & logging in more than 150hrs. I put the game down and moved on. Recently I purchased the GOTY version of the game and was immediately disappointed to learn that the game has some major freezing and framerate issues. It's only after I started playing the GOTY version of the game that I came back to the Fallout forum here and read just how many people are experiencing these problems.

Anyway, last night I decided to give the game another go. I started up the Brotherhood of Steel mission "Death from Above". Almost immediately the game started dropping the framerate and froze on me twice in 1hr. I was about to call it quits when I decided to try something - I switched off my radio in my Pip Boy. The results were immediate! I could actually move around the Wasteland and fight enemies using VATS without the framerate dropping! I played for 2 more hours after turning the radio off and experienced no additional freezing that required a reload. 

So maybe it's worth a shot?! Just try turning your radio off in your Pip Boy!  Sorry if this has already been mentioned before. I ran a quick search and didn't see anyone else recommending this.

Message 1 of 23 (17,689 Views)
0 Likes
Wastelander
883 posts

Re: Fallout 3 GOTY Freezing? Try This!

Dec 19, 2009

Jag_Stilvecchio wrote:

Well after beating the original Fallout 3, getting platinum & logging in more than 150hrs. I put the game down and moved on. Recently I purchased the GOTY version of the game and was immediately disappointed to learn that the game has some major freezing and framerate issues. It's only after I started playing the GOTY version of the game that I came back to the Fallout forum here and read just how many people are experiencing these problems.