Do you mean 
Uncharted Territory
1585 posts

Re: High Wire

[ Edited ]
Apr 23, 2013

Destinkeys wrote:

Interesting thread...

And I want to thank you for the concise arguments I've been fighting for 20 yrs now. Sincerely

I wonder if anyone is looking at the big picture, though. Alternative fuels all suffer from one enormous problem. Inefficiency. Simply put, gasoline has the largest 'bang for the buck' out there. Or we WOULD be using something else! And, while niche alternatives offer a nice Jetson's like glimpse of a future we will probably never see, these so called 'alternatives' never address the sheer SCALE of our current energy usage. Nor our addiction to the speed of how we are used to doing things.

Admittedly at this time efficiency is the obstacle, but the only thing standing in the way of development is profitability. A reminder that 35 hp was petroleum's max before additives. Scale is relative to the effort put forth, the Hoover dam, and Panama Canal were two projects that seemed inconceivable at the time they were begun. We need to stop thinking of this as a novelty and realize how big the stakes really are. It is not our problem directly but the future of civilization as we know it demands answers sooner than later. Think 100,000 years not 100, after all there is time after our own existence. Current technology can provide 200+ MPH electric trains if enough people see its potential, so speed isn't the problem IMO.

While solar, wind and biofuels can get you there, scale them up to the levels of the entire planet's energy uses, and none of them will get the job done without disruption of the world's ecology and climate. Basically, as it stands right now, we are pulling vast amounts of energy from the ground that was stored up slowly over millions (billions!) of years. And yes, we are doing possibly irreparable damage to our planet by burning them all off. But try to imagine the entire world's current energy needs being taken from another source...