Highlighted
Nov 02 2013
By: Jaxvex Uncharted Territory 1272 posts

Time for a daily Kat thread

14 replies 216 views Edited Nov 2, 2013

In today discussion I want to focus on the soon to be Kat mains post patch. 

Many players have stated that they want to main Kat but refuse to do so until she is mid tier or lower. As she is now she's too easy mode for veteran fighters and requires no thought. I have a question for these future Kat mains, mainly for those who refuse to use her because she's Kat tier.

Besides glitches and not being tournament legal what exactly is it that makes you hesitant towards using her?

Now I don't want an long list of what makes her broken. I'll do that myself later. What I'm asking is what is it that makes her unusable to you, the player. 

Let me explain more where I'm going with this. Back when I started playing with Pyskiiik, a well respected *former* Raiden main from Arena, we had discussions about how Raiden is too easy to use now and days. Any current Raiden main can rely on 3 moves and be carried to victory: a.N1 (air neutral square combo), a.U2 (flippy kick of death), and a.S3 (side circle dash). His grab can also be included in this list. It was because of Raidens meta game starting to form around these moves that Pyskiiik decided to drop him and pick up Kratos. He always mentioned how Raiden had other terrific moves in his toolset but that because the other  3 were so powerful they were rarely used.

That's when I realized that using a.N1, a.U2, and a.S3 is completely optional. It's not like how EC is with Dante, which is the only thing that keeps him afloat competitively. You can use Raiden effectively without relying exclusively on his OP aspects (e.g retiree2010, PHaZeX3RO, etc.). So why not just use Raiden that way and refuse to abuse his broken tactics, instead of rejecting his character all together.