Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Mar 29 2013
By: guerillafilmprod First Son 2 posts

Any recommendations on SSD drives for PS3?

10 replies 245 views Edited Mar 29, 2013

hi there!

I was wondering if a consensus was reached on this. I am planning on buying a good SSD for my PS3. What is the best one out there? I'm told to get one with trim support (or garbage collecting) since the PS os won't do this. OCZ vertex 4 seems viable but I'm a noob at this so I don't know. Any advice? If so, could you provide links to recommended SSD internal HDs? Thanx!

Message 1 of 11 (245 Views)
0 Likes
Sackboy
551 posts

Re: Any recommendations on SSD drives for PS3?

Mar 29, 2013

From what I've read, SSD has slightly (almost unnoticeably) lower performance, in most scenarios, than HDDs in a PS3.  So, pretty much, the same real-world performance as an HDD, but a much higher price tag.

Message 2 of 11 (242 Views)
0 Likes
Sackboy
507 posts

Mar 29, 2013
From what I've read about them it depends on the game. Ones that use the hdd heavily, like Skyrim, Rage, and GT5 can see improvements. I still don't think it's worth the price though.

Message 3 of 11 (233 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
15664 posts

[ Edited ]
Mar 29, 2013

Don't bother....

They're still too expensive compared to HDD's, and with use in the PS3, theres no perceptible gain.

With SSD, you're paying well over $2 per GB for the large drives and about $1.50 per GB for the smaller capacities...

an HDD, you're paying $0.10 per GB on average....

Or how about this....

A 500Gb Hdd is less than $100..... a 512GB SSD is about $400+.... even the common 64 or 128GB SSD's are about $150-250.

The cost vs performance ratio for an SSD is not in the consumers favor when using it in a PS3.

Even with having an SSD, you're still subjected to load times whether you like it or not.... we're a long way from having zero load times.

Logic, who would've thought eh? Oh wait.... No one thinks anymore.