Reply
Oct 12 2009
By: Jello715 Wastelander 696 posts
Offline

Change the PS3 screen size?

16 replies 97082 views Edited Oct 12, 2009

My mom bought a new 42'' HDTV for my room to replace my 13'' CRT TV xD

 

Anyways, I was really excited and and an extra HDMI cable lying around, so I use that for my PS3 instead! The problem is, the XMB gets cut off at the cornet of the screen!

 

I know in games like LittleBigPlanet and Ragdoll Kung Fu, you can change the screen size, but can you change the screen size of the XMB itself? Thanks in advance! 

No signature for now.
Message 1 of 17 (97,082 Views)
0 Likes
Survivor
Registered: 01/24/2009
Offline
2858 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Oct 12, 2009
Go to display setting or something like that and change the ratio to 16:9 if you haven't.  Mine is set to that on an old 50" HD and only the bottom is cut off a little bit.  For some reason though mine won't play in 720p even though it can go up to 1080i.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Message 2 of 17 (97,082 Views)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 04/03/2007
Offline
8540 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Oct 12, 2009
you need to set your tvs wide mode to "full" or "normal" depending on the tv
Photobucket
Message 3 of 17 (97,083 Views)
Fender Bender
Registered: 07/10/2009
Offline
3139 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Oct 12, 2009

Chingkwee wrote:
you need to set your tvs wide mode to "full" or "normal" depending on the tv

I have the same problem, but the problen isn't that it clips whole sides, it clips 1/2 an inch off of the top, bottom, left and right. and there is no option to adjust zoom or anything, unless I fiddle around the service menu which will likely end in my trashing the TV.





again... but at least I got my data off it and deactivated my accounts.
Message 4 of 17 (97,083 Views)
First Son
Registered: 09/08/2012
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Sep 8, 2012

i have the same problrm with the 1/2 inch cut out on all sides and ive sjusted everything under vid settings that i can find and nothing i did worked neeed help myself playing on dc univerce online ps3 virsion

Message 5 of 17 (95,416 Views)
First Son
Registered: 09/08/2012
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Sep 8, 2012
it does it on every screen
Message 6 of 17 (95,415 Views)
Big Daddy
Registered: 12/24/2007
Offline
16918 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Sep 8, 2012

how do you know its cut off?

Furiously Chaosing
Message 7 of 17 (95,414 Views)
0 Likes
Monster Hunter
Registered: 12/25/2011
Offline
36 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Sep 8, 2012
Connect PS3 with de HDMI cable and go to Display Settings and select HDMI.
Message 8 of 17 (95,400 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 07/04/2008
Offline
75 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Sep 8, 2012
What brand of tv?

It should have a setting that says "just scan, normal" or something like that. I have a 46" Samsung LN46A550, its an older set but I don't have any screen cuttoff.
Message 9 of 17 (95,386 Views)
0 Likes
Big Daddy
Registered: 12/24/2007
Offline
16918 posts
 

Re: Change the PS3 screen size?

Sep 8, 2012

There is a setting in the HDTV itself that is "pan and scan" "just scan" and "normal"... you're looking for the ASPECT RATIO or OVERSCAN setting.

 

Look in the instruction manual that came with your TV....... You should have looked at it before ever coming onto the forums as it will undoubtedly help you in properly setting up.

 

 

You'll want it set to "normal" or "16:9" mode.

 

 

Furiously Chaosing
Message 10 of 17 (95,383 Views)
0 Likes