Ghost of Sparta
12496 posts

Re: Don't understand the complaints about Madden 25, I love it.

Sep 6, 2013

CaptainAlbator wrote:

glaciusx25 wrote:

CaptainAlbator wrote:

in the interest of saving space....

It's a good idea in theory. I'm not a programmer so I don't know what would go into making a mode like that. I do know that when it comes right down to it, you'd be starting at a screen like this for quite a while;

Basic diagram

The real problem is that you have to come up with plays for any number of situations on the field;

• 1st and 10
  • 2 and 10
  • 3rd and 10
  • 4th and inches
  • 4th and 5
  • 2nd and 5
  • Fakes
  • Special Teams
  • Two minute drills
  • Goaline offense
  • Red Zone offense
  • 2nd and Long
  • Two Point Conversion
  • I-Formation
  • Pro-Formation
  • Weak Side Flood
  • Three wide out
  • Play Action
  • QB Waggle
  • Man in Motion
  • Sweeps
  • Traps

There's more, but that's off the top of my head, and all 11 players on the field have to be reacting and running routes to whatever you have them, which is a huge variable. Maybe it could be done on the PS4, but there would be much more than just "Hardcore Mode or Casual Mode".

But the custom playbook in games like Madden 04 were good enough, and they weren't difficult.

You didn't have to have people literally track opponents.

For example, the line men you just set to either "Rush Block" or "Pass Block" and they did just that, just like all the pre-made plays that you see.

You can then draw player's routes, add options, etc.

Same with defense. You could set zones, man-to-man, etc.

It's really not that hard to draw up plays. I made a huge custom playbook in Madden 04 and it worked just fine.

Actually you know what? That's a rather streamlined way of doing it, and I have to admit, it's not a bad idea. You have a set play as a template, and you make some changes.

Casual mode 

Are you a WWE fan? click here to join the discussion

Message 31 of 39 (483 Views)
0 Likes