Feb 17 2014
By: thejtl Splicer 50 posts

Gold Wireless 7.1 vs. Astro A40 and 4 other headsets

22 replies 5191 views Edited Feb 17, 2014

Folks, 

I've spent the last couple weeks searcing for a new headset. Last week I added the new Gold WOreless to the mix and put htem up against the others in a shootout. I've been a recording musician and sound engineer for 25+ years. I explain the whole thought process I went through to come to my ultimate decision. The result kinda surprised me. I made a video to explain. I'd be in terested to know what you think.

http://youtu.be/2Y0ietlIYiI

PSN: thejtl
XBL: theJTL71
www.jasontlewis.com
Youtube: www.youtube.com/user/thejasontlewis
Message 1 of 23 (5,191 Views)
PlayStation MVP
5251 posts

Re: Gold Wireless 7.1 vs. Astro A40 and 4 other headsets

[ Edited ]
Feb 17, 2014

I must say, very impressive analysis. I did the same thing and came to the conclusion I liked my PlayStation Gold headset and instead of most of my headsets, it never got returned or sold online despite preferring the surround on the Astro A50's I own (not saying the Gold's surround is bad, it's directional but not as open or spacious as I would like). Primarily user my Gold's for my music and Vita as they sound excellent for stereo sound. 

Message 2 of 23 (5,166 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
50 posts

Feb 17, 2014

Thanks. It was fun to got through all this stuff. I was kind of surprised at where gaming headsets are in terms of overall quality. Seems like a lot of less-than-awesome stuff out there and you really have to dig and know what you're looking for to find the few good sets out there. In comparison to the audiophile and pro audio world, it's pretty undeveloped.

www.jasontlewis.com
Message 3 of 23 (5,162 Views)
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
10077 posts

Feb 17, 2014
As a sound engineer, you shouldn't be playing with any of these headsets. Their really nothing more then toys.
Message 4 of 23 (5,151 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
50 posts

Feb 17, 2014