Reply
First Son
Registered: 12/25/2010
Offline
2 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 4, 2011

I'm sure I'm trying to connect to my new router.  When I enter the new SSID, either manually or through the scan, there is never an opportunity to enter the security passphrase.  Everything just sits until I cancel and then the old SSID from a now disconnected router comes up.

Thanks.

Message 11 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 12/16/2008
Offline
7785 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 5, 2011

It sounds like your wireless connection is very weak. Look for the newest firmware update for your router first from D-Link's website; make sure you update firmware using a PC with a wired connection. Afterwards, make sure your router is set to wireless channel 1 or 11 for least interference. For security, you should use WPA2-PSK AES for best performance.

Message 12 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 04/05/2011
Offline
53 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 5, 2011

Have you created a profile for your ps3 in the router itself and turn the firewall off for the ps3.

Message 13 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 12/12/2008
Offline
99 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 5, 2011

Yeeeeeeeeah... so, D-link sucks hardcore XXX balls. I wouldn't use it to wipe with, I'd switch back to Netgear... even if your old router was ancient, there's no such thing as "upgrading" when you're switching to D-link.

Message 14 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Highlighted
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 08/03/2007
Offline
195 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 6, 2011

Hey - this might be obvious - but just in case.

You say you switched from a G router to an N router.  Did you enable G backwards compatibility on your new router?  The PS3 only supports B/G.

Cheers,

Paul

Message 15 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/08/2011
Offline
13 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 8, 2011

i havent signed in in a week. i keep gettin this error code. 807101FF. can u help me out? thanx

Message 16 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 08/02/2007
Offline
1153 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 9, 2011

Were you able to previously connect before? Also who is your ISP and are you using wireless or wired?

Message 17 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/08/2011
Offline
13 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 9, 2011

yes i have been signin in b4 . i have wireless. what is isp? lol.

Message 18 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 08/02/2007
Offline
1153 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 9, 2011

Internet service provider. Did you change anything from your setup that you think might have caused this? Also are you able to connect to the Internet on your PS3? whats your nat type when you go to the network status tab?

Message 19 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 04/08/2011
Offline
13 posts
 

Re: Need help connecting PS3 to a new D-Link DIR 655

Apr 9, 2011

here is a detail thing of what happens. when i check the network status in the network setting. the only succeded i get is in the ip adress. it remains on cheking the internet connection for an hour or sometimes even more and it never tells me failed. i use the internet browser on the ps3 and it works. and no i havent changed anything in the router or the internet.

Message 20 of 30 (126 Views)
Reply
0 Likes