MVP Support
9392 posts

Re: PS3 DRM is not fair

Jan 9, 2013
I've been using Monoprice's $3 HDMI cables for 4 years without a problem, including 3D and 7.1 audio.

The only thing you are paying for with higher priced cables is the brand.
Message 11 of 16 (112 Views)
PlayStation MVP
16120 posts

Jan 9, 2013

try resetting the tv back to factory settings.
do the same on the ps3 as well.

don't blame the cable... theres nothing for them to burn-out or break, its just a length of wires on a crimped connector. i am goin on 6 years with my $5+shipping monoprice.com hdmi cables without issue.

Furiously Chaosing

I get you so horked up

Message 12 of 16 (106 Views)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
5911 posts

Jan 9, 2013

What are you doing to your HDMI cables to break them?!?

Cables usually don't just break on their own. They are passive devices. They don't "wear out" with use.

I have 5+ year old cheap HDMI cables that still work fine. I have one in a backpack I use to carry various devices, including my PS3, when I visit friend's houses. That HDMI cable has been plugged and unplugged, uncoiled and coiled many dozens of times, and it still works fine. I bought it so long ago I can't remeber what I paid, but all the HDMI cables I have bought have been < $10.

The only HDMI cable I have ever had to replace was one that my bunny chewed.

So I have to ask again, what are you doing with your HDMI cables? Jump rope? Tug of war with your dog? Seriously?

BBurgSteve wrote:
I've been using Monoprice's $3 HDMI cables for 4 years without a problem, including 3D and 7.1 audio.

The only thing you are paying for with higher priced cables is the brand.

And often those brand name cables aren't as nice as the ones from monoprice.com! Monoprice rocks! Bought tons of stuff from them for myself, friends, family. I've also been happy with HDMI cables from itrimming.com (I like their thinner, lighter ones - Monoprice cables can be too fat and stiff for some installations).