Reply
Apr 03 2009
By: Miadaskate Sackboy 521 posts
Offline

Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

10 replies 29 views Edited Apr 3, 2009
Hello everyone, I've been using my camcorder to take pictures of Home. Unfortunately, I have an old glass screen SDTV, so the pictures usually come out pretty bad. Is there any way I can hook my camera up to my TV (Perhaps with AV Cables) and take pictures? Just wondering. Also, what do you guys use for taking your Home pictures? Thanks.
Message 1 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 06/18/2008
Offline
5165 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009
Buy a capture card, those will work perfectly
League of Legends ID: fx Choi Jin ri
Always Keep the Faith in TVXQ and JYJ.
Jersquall owes me $5. I've used PS Home Service since Beta.
Message 2 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 02/11/2009
Offline
521 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009
Never heard of a capture card, What is it?
Message 3 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Keyblade Wielder
Registered: 07/22/2008
Offline
9691 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009

Miadaskate wrote:
Never heard of a capture card, What is it?

It's a pretty expensive piece of equipment ($50+) that "captures" what's on your TV. Then the video saves on your harddrive, where you're able to edit it and so forth. It's totally cool.

Message 4 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 02/11/2009
Offline
521 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009
Where could one buy a capture card? Best Buy? and is it just like a Memory Card? I'm sorry if I sound stupid but I've seriously never heard of a capture card before. I don't really need to do any video editing since my laptop's power supply is currently broken. I just want to take pictures. Thanks again.
Message 5 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 12/06/2007
Offline
628 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009
Cheaper than a high end Camera and LCD 1080p Television however! I am pretty sure I could take some nice pics of my TV with my camera. Might play with that one day when I can get someone else to control the Avatar and let me work the camera

Dr_McNoob wrote:

Miadaskate wrote:
Never heard of a capture card, What is it?

It's a pretty expensive piece of equipment ($50+) that "captures" what's on your TV. Then the video saves on your harddrive, where you're able to edit it and so forth. It's totally cool.


 

Home is a failure, on the bright side its a free babysitter.

PS3 Trophies
Message 6 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Sackboy
Registered: 02/11/2009
Offline
521 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009
Yeah, my pictures would look nice if I didn't have a small crappy glass screen. I really need to start saving up for an HDTV...
Message 7 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 11/17/2006
Offline
4789 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009

Miadaskate wrote:
Yeah, my pictures would look nice if I didn't have a small crappy glass screen. I really need to start saving up for an HDTV...

 

Well, what you can do now is turn off all lights (include those on the camera) using only the output of the TV and put the camera on a tripod to keep it stable. This should greatly improve your shots.
jaymc account
Message 8 of 11 (29 Views)
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 11/26/1999
Offline
1429 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009

Yup, capture card works REAL good

 

 

JAPAN ONLY

Message Edited by psxexpert on 04-02-2009 10:47 PM
Underground Member Since 1997
GAP Member since 2003



Message 9 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes
Fender Bender
Registered: 10/23/2006
Offline
4236 posts
 

Re: Taking Pictures In Home (Camera Question)

Apr 3, 2009
related and unrelated question, will we ever see screen grab or screen capture for home? i know its up to the developers to impliment this, but u know how when you submit a report the chat log, and if im not mistaken a screen shot gets put into a report for the mods to review, well isnt there a way for us to have the screen capture via usb keyboard button print screen sysrq? it would be a great update addition for us to have, what do you think about this?
Message 10 of 11 (29 Views)
0 Likes