Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Feb 13 2013
By: Dadawg2010 First Son 3 posts
Offline
Accepted Solution

Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

11 replies 851 views Edited Feb 13, 2013

Can anyone tell me how to get my PS3 to work properly with my satellite internet service? I am able to connect online, when I try to join a match is just starts searching and searching but will not place me in a match. Is there some settings that need to be changed for satellite internet?

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 12 (851 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 12/23/2010
Offline
83 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 13, 2013
im not sure but i think your internet speed is to slow with satellite
Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 12 (836 Views)
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 10/25/2007
Offline
1525 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 13, 2013

What game?

Who's your isp.?

What type of hardware for internet do you use include model#?

Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 12 (834 Views)
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 01/26/2013
Offline
98 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 14, 2013

Even if you do get it to work, there will be seious lag(delay) time.


Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 12 (830 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 02/03/2010
Offline
3 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 17, 2013

The game i have tried so far is Call of Duty Black Ops 2. I have Excede satellite internet that uses a modem. The problem is that when I try to play online, it starts a search for a room but doesn't place me in one. Is there certain settings for satellite internet on the PS3? Someone told me something about porting the PS3, but I have no clue what that means or how to do it.

Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 12 (811 Views)
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 12/23/2010
Offline
83 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 18, 2013

well if you want to try and open ports they are on your router but i dont think this will help

google portfoward.com and look for psn ports and bl ops ports for ps3

good luck

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 12 (797 Views)
0 Likes
MVP Support
Registered: 12/18/2002
Online
18679 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 18, 2013

Dadawg2010 wrote:

The game i have tried so far is Call of Duty Black Ops 2. I have Excede satellite internet that uses a modem. The problem is that when I try to play online, it starts a search for a room but doesn't place me in one. Is there certain settings for satellite internet on the PS3? Someone told me something about porting the PS3, but I have no clue what that means or how to do it.


 

Your problem is that SAT internet is slow

 

Go to this site www.speedtest.net and take a speed test then post your result here.

7FXb|Thunderstorm Summer[Twitter] @SevenFactors Welcoming Committee 2.0 MVP
Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 12 (795 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
Registered: 08/07/2008
Offline
1130 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 18, 2013

Xuchilbara wrote:

Dadawg2010 wrote:

The game i have tried so far is Call of Duty Black Ops 2. I have Excede satellite internet that uses a modem. The problem is that when I try to play online, it starts a search for a room but doesn't place me in one. Is there certain settings for satellite internet on the PS3? Someone told me something about porting the PS3, but I have no clue what that means or how to do it.


 

Your problem is that SAT internet is slow

 

Go to this site www.speedtest.net and take a speed test then post your result here.


Your right, satellite internet is too slow to play online games.

Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 12 (788 Views)
0 Likes
MVP Support
Registered: 12/18/2002
Online
18679 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Feb 18, 2013

jayistheway wrote:

Xuchilbara wrote:

Dadawg2010 wrote:

The game i have tried so far is Call of Duty Black Ops 2. I have Excede satellite internet that uses a modem. The problem is that when I try to play online, it starts a search for a room but doesn't place me in one. Is there certain settings for satellite internet on the PS3? Someone told me something about porting the PS3, but I have no clue what that means or how to do it.


 

Your problem is that SAT internet is slow

 

Go to this site www.speedtest.net and take a speed test then post your result here.


Your right, satellite internet is too slow to play online games.


 

I just got done doing some research on the company.

 

By far, they offer one of the best satellite internet service in the market.

 

They have two speed tiers which are based on the area covered by the ViaSat-1 satellite.

exode-12: 12Mb/s Down & 3Mb/s Up

exode-5:     5Mb/s Down & 1Mb/s Up

 

Both speed tiers fall under a monthly usage cap package [this is what the consumer pays for]

 

10GB/month $49.99
15GB/month $79.99
25GB/month $129.99

 

Now the neat thing about this, just like cell phone plants, these package include unmetered nights which starts from 12:00am to 5:00am

 

 

@Dadawg2010: You might want to find out what is the penalty for going over the monthly bandwidth cap; speed reduction or pay as you go [$$$ per GB]

 

Do take the speed test and post your result it here.

7FXb|Thunderstorm Summer[Twitter] @SevenFactors Welcoming Committee 2.0 MVP
Please use plain text.
Message 9 of 12 (782 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 07/17/2014
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: Connecting PS3 to satellite internet service...

Jul 17, 2014

The issue is one of latency and not throughputs, games such as CoD (first person shooters etc) require sub 100-150ms; by default satellite latency is 550-900ms. You should be able to sign into the Playstation Network (although some may suffer NAT type issues), but gaming is pretty much impossible.

Please use plain text.
Message 10 of 12 (280 Views)
0 Likes