Mar 30 2013
By: Bamboo4You First Son 7 posts

How to use an American Express prepaid card to add funds to wallet?

3 replies 3182 views Edited Mar 30, 2013
I purchased a prepaid American Express gift card from Giant grocery store. I checked online and for some weird reason it has $49 balance. First of all, **bleep**? I was charged a $5 fee for the card already now they want to charge me another $1 for what?

Second of all, i do not know how to redeem the card. I tried entering the code in the redeem gift card/promotion code on PSN and that didn't work out. You see, this card is like a credit card and looks like one, but it has a 15 digit code on the front. 4 digits, then 6 digits, and then 5 digits. The PSN code accepts only 4 digits 3 times.

I have NEVER used a card like this before and it is very frustrating for me. I have no idea what to do Smiley Sad. Can anyone help me out here?
Message 1 of 4 (3,182 Views)
0 Likes
MVP Support
39468 posts

Re: How to use an American Express prepaid card to add funds to wallet?

Mar 30, 2013

Bamboo4You wrote:
I purchased a prepaid American Express gift card from Giant grocery store. I checked online and for some weird reason it has $49 balance. First of all, **bleep**? I was charged a $5 fee for the card already now they want to charge me another $1 for what?
The $1.00 charges are when Sony is checking the card to make sure it is valid, has funds, is registered & not solen etc, it's basically a security check & the $1.00 fee(s) wil be returned to your card in a day or so.

Second of all, i do not know how to redeem the card. I tried entering the code in the redeem gift card/promotion code on PSN and that didn't work out. You see, this card is like a credit card and looks like one, but it has a 15 digit code on the front. 4 digits, then 6 digits, and then 5 digits. The PSN code accepts only 4 digits 3 times.