Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Jun 01 2012
By: DeadSpider Treasure Hunter 7933 posts
Offline

Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

10 replies 907 views Edited Jun 1, 2012

Any idea on what this error code means? It seems to be an issue using Charter Internet. Uverse connects fine. Using Match Maker with all modes selected.

Please use plain text.
Message 1 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Uncharted Territory
Registered: 10/28/2008
Offline
1986 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 1, 2012

We were promised for this to get fixed in the 2nd pacth lol, looks like he lied.

Please use plain text.
Message 2 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 05/28/2007
Offline
7933 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 1, 2012

IPumpMyGun wrote:

We were promised for this to get fixed in the 2nd pacth lol, looks like he lied.

If I recall the patch added a more detailed error #ing system to help identify issues along with many tweaks to the network code. If you read my OP you will see that one of my ISP's connect fine while the other does not. So either its and ISP issue, Modem/Router issue or how I have my router configured is my best guess.

Please use plain text.
Message 3 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 05/05/2010
Offline
13630 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 1, 2012

DeadSpider wrote:

IPumpMyGun wrote:

We were promised for this to get fixed in the 2nd pacth lol, looks like he lied.

If I recall the patch added a more detailed error #ing system to help identify issues along with many tweaks to the network code. If you read my OP you will see that one of my ISP's connect fine while the other does not. So either its and ISP issue, Modem/Router issue or how I have my router configured is my best guess.

Yeah, I'd guess its the ISP, personally. Shouldn't be the router/modem because it works for one but not the other.

Please use plain text.
Message 4 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
First Son
Registered: 06/01/2012
Offline
1 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 1, 2012

Yeah I keep getting the same error code. any time i try to do anything other than single player story mode(co-op, quick match, game list). only have been able to get into 2 matches in the week i've had the game, and we've gotten the router all set up and tweaked so I should be able to get into matches.

Please use plain text.
Message 5 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 05/05/2010
Offline
13630 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 1, 2012

Freckles179 wrote:

Yeah I keep getting the same error code. any time i try to do anything other than single player story mode(co-op, quick match, game list). only have been able to get into 2 matches in the week i've had the game, and we've gotten the router all set up and tweaked so I should be able to get into matches.

I would call the ISP too. If DS is right and it is an ISP error that's the only way to fix it...

Please use plain text.
Message 6 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Treasure Hunter
Registered: 05/28/2007
Offline
7933 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 7, 2012

Had this sorted out last night. Put PS3 in DMZ and all was fine. Today I try to get in some Co-Op and same error. Same thing with MP

I am going to try to powercycle my modem to see if that helps.

*EDIT*

Powercycle did not help. PS3 is still set to DMZ and IP is still the same. Nothing has changed at all on my end

Please use plain text.
Message 7 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Lombax Warrior
Registered: 03/15/2011
Offline
102 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jun 7, 2012

i get that code all day long... it takes me about 10-30min to get on a server. I hope they fix that connection issue. Hope you are able to get on soon.

Please use plain text.
Message 8 of 11 (907 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Splicer
Registered: 03/28/2009
Offline
65 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jul 5, 2012

Son of a bisquit!!.. 

just changed from Uverse because of lag, to Charter.. and now getting the #4 00000008 1358 Failed to Connect Error junk!.. can't even create a room of my own.  :smileysad: 

 

Please use plain text.
Message 9 of 11 (885 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
Wastelander
Registered: 05/20/2008
Offline
946 posts
 

Re: Failed to Connect ( #4 00000008 1 358 )

Jul 5, 2012

I'm running Charter with no issues.  I'm not pretending to be a networking expert, but you think it might be a problem with the DNS service on your particular network node?  You could try setting up static DNSs on your router and see what happens.  I've got mine set to OpenDNS;

208.67.222.222

208.67.220.220

 

 


Please use plain text.
Message 10 of 11 (877 Views)
Reply
0 Likes