Reply
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 11/22/2004
Offline
1158 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

[ Edited ]
Feb 12, 2013

velvet_123_cat wrote:

How much does a capture thingy cost?


It depends on the model. I got the older one that only has component and S-video/composite inputs since you can't capture from your PS3 using HDMI. Plus the older one had S-video/composite inputs for things like VCR and older consoles.

 

All models run somewhere between $150 and $200 new. EBay has some under $100 if you're lucky.

 

You need a PC (or Mac) to use the Hauppauge models since there is no HDD built in and it needs software to capture and create a video file. Just plug it in using USB.

 

You can upload with the software that comes with the unit but wasn't as sharp and detailed as I wanted which is what lead me to ask what other post-production software others may be using.

Please use plain text.
Message 21 of 27 (135 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 11/22/2004
Offline
1158 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

[ Edited ]
Feb 13, 2013

Edit: Updated below.

Please use plain text.
Message 22 of 27 (122 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 11/22/2004
Offline
1158 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

[ Edited ]
Feb 18, 2013

Okay, here is the final cut of my first upload of gameplay capture with my Hauppauge HD PVR.

 

I posted a few other test runs earlier but this version is the one I'm happiest with. Please view at 720p if your connection speed supports it.

 

Update: I'm reposting the videos soon. Had some audio issues I need to address.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Message 23 of 27 (92 Views)
Reply
Splicer
Registered: 05/30/2012
Offline
31 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

[ Edited ]
Feb 13, 2013

I use Cinema4D and After effects to edit all my gameplay.

Photobucket
Please use plain text.
Message 24 of 27 (77 Views)
Reply
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 11/22/2004
Offline
1158 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

Feb 13, 2013

bloodsynlol wrote:

I use Cinema4D and After effects to edit all my gameplay.


Cool, thanks!

 

Never used Cinema4D before and it's been years since I had access to After Effects but if I had Adobe Creative Suite handy I'd use it for sure.

 

Sony Vegas is pretty easy to use and wasn't too expensive.

Please use plain text.
Message 25 of 27 (73 Views)
Reply
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 12/21/2007
Online
46584 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

Feb 13, 2013

RubiconAlpha wrote:

Okay, here is the final cut of my first upload of gameplay capture with my Hauppauge HD PVR.

 

I posted a few other test runs earlier but this version is the one I'm happiest with. Please view at 720p if your connection speed supports it.

 

 


I like :smileyhappy:!

Please use plain text.
Message 26 of 27 (66 Views)
Reply
PlayStation MVP
Registered: 11/22/2004
Offline
1158 posts
 

Re: Question About Starhawk Gameplay Captures

Feb 13, 2013

PLYMCO_PILGRIM wrote:

I like :smileyhappy:


Thanks!

 

Back to working on my Starhawk themed LBP2 levels. Just wanted something to be able to post my own footage with first. :smileywink:

Please use plain text.
Message 27 of 27 (62 Views)
Reply
0 Likes