Aug 17 2012
By: NefariousJester First Son 15 posts

Survival Horror for beginners

5 replies 270 views Edited Aug 17, 2012

Hello,

I'm actually interested in playing some survival horror games. However, I'm new to the genre; and as such, I'm not sure what game or games I should start out with. If you could give me a run down of some the the better ones (i.e. great story, great gameplay, etc.) it would be very much appreciated.

NefariousJester

Message 1 of 6 (270 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
1039 posts

Re: Survival Horror for beginners

Jan 28, 2013
That depends on the style of gameplay and sub-genre you're looking for. There are survival horror shooters, those with RPG elements like dead island, dead rising is more on the comedic side of the genre but still fun...
Dead Island 1 & riptide (sequel): The reason I recommend dead island is because your claim to be kinda new to the genre and if you need a hand, you can team up with up to three other players online. It's has a leveling system, skill sets to work on, weapons you can mod, it's a decent zombie game.
Dead rising two is fun, a little old but fun you player with a friend.
Dead Space I found a little moreal difficult but it's is a great game as, far as I know. RE6 is decent but I consider it more of an action title.
 photo WSS-Reaper-LTB.png
Message 2 of 6 (209 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
4421 posts

Jan 29, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy the Dead Space Franchise.

I have not played Dead Island yet, but intend to.  Far Cry is excellent as well.

I have moved beyond the RE Franchise.  I just don't like the control of it anymore.

I have heard I am Alive is OK, but has its issues.  I personally am waiting for The Last of Us to come out.  I hear, and read that it is going to be GREAT!

Moble

Message 3 of 6 (204 Views)
0 Likes
Fender Bender
4292 posts

[ Edited ]
Jan 30, 2013
Message 4 of 6 (199 Views)
0 Likes
PlayStation MVP
4421 posts

Jan 30, 2013