Jul 21 2013
By: Captain29051987 First Son 2 posts

Fan is running loudly while playing 'The Last of Us'

[ Edited ]
4 replies 652 views Edited Jul 21, 2013

My PS3 is about 6 years old. It's the 40 GB model released in 2007.

I don't play many games with it, and never really have, I use it primarly as a Blu-ray/DVD/Netflix player, and often (typically 1-2 hours per day).

Last night, I started playing 'The Last of Us' and about 5 minutes into the game the fan ramped up to the point that is sounded like a jet taking off. I've never heard my PS3 make any fan noise of this kind in the past, even when playing video games on the console. It was alarming to hear the fan running loudly like that.

After about 15 minutes of gameplay the fan got quiet again, and then after 30 minutes it went back to sounding like a jet taking off. The console felt hot, but in my opinion not really hot enough to warrant the fan bugging out like it was.

I googled the loud fan noise and learned that it is typically a sign of an impending Yellow Light of Death (YLOD). I cracked the PS3, cleaned off the existing thermal compound, and replaced it with Arctic Silver 5 (AS5) paste.

Once again, I fired up 'The Last of Us', the fan was quiet until I was about 40 minutes into gameplay.

I'll continue to try to trouble shoot this issue, and hope I don't get the YLOD.  I'm posting about it on here to document my experience in case this happens to anybody else, so they know they're not alone.

Message 1 of 5 (652 Views)
0 Likes
Wastelander
674 posts

Re: Fan is running loudly while playing 'The Last of Us'

Jul 21, 2013
TLOU is very taxing. I remember UC3 ran similarly on my 60GB fat ps3. But I didn't get any YLOD or anything. Just clean the vents. Since you've already gone the extra mile and changed the thermal compound, you don't need to worry so much.
Message 2 of 5 (632 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
2 posts

Jul 21, 2013

demonsta500 wrote: