Uncharted Territory
1300 posts

Re: <Spoilers> Ending doctors gone wild? This is not how science works...

Sep 23, 2013
Ellie = little puppy...
Lol that analogy is golden :smileyvery-happy:
Please use plain text.
Message 21 of 27 (227 Views)
0 Likes
First Son
1 posts

[ Edited ]
Sep 27, 2013
I'm a chemistry major/biochem minor and working on a clinical doctorate. Now, I'm no expert on vaccines but OP's reaction was the same as mine. These doctors were absolutely out-of-their-minds. The world's hope for a vaccine is dropped at their feet and they run a couple of blood/CSF tests and and a MRI and they come to the conclusion that they have to take her apart?! They were waaaaaaay too quick to come to that conclusion. This plus marlene was going to kill Joel ("take him out back") let me know that the fireflies are a bunch of incompetent but dangerous morons willing to cross any line without hesitation.

Some in the community are far too hard on Joel for making this decision to extract Ellie and run. These firefly nuts were so in the wrong that I'd lose respect for Joel if he hadn't wrecked them.

[edit:grammar]
Please use plain text.
Message 22 of 27 (194 Views)
0 Likes
I Only Post Everything
1027 posts

Sep 29, 2013

VampireSoap wrote:

but Ellie's like the ONLY mutated human who's found immune to the fungus...And those doctors aren't even going to study her for a few days first, they aren't going to come up with an alternative...like finding or developing more advance instruments in order to perhaps avoid killing MANKIND'S ONLY HOPE? This is just...absurd from my point of view. And I admit I'm ignorant about developing a vaccine, but if any of you know something about this, please tell me if removing an organ from a subject is absolutely necessary because that seems pretty radical.